Dawn on the banks of the Georgina River

Dawn in the quiet after the birds depart

Half an hour before sunrise, just a hint of salmon pink in the east and the palest of blue in a a cloud free sky. Even though the days have been warm there is a strong wind and it’s very chilly on the edge of the river.

The noise is incredible – the squawking of thousands a birds in the trees along the river bank following by a roaring sound as wings start beating in the trees. Suddenly the sky is masked with Major Mitchell Cockatoos as they launch and wheel around, before forming enormous flocks, setting of towards the sunrise and their feeding grounds in the distance.

After they leave, the honking of the brolgas feeding in the grasses and the quacking of the ducks that are spooked as I approach to photograph, seems so quiet, as I walk along looking for a vantage point.

It’s hard to beat being the banks of the Georgina River at dawn.

“Mole stood still a moment, held in thought. As one wakened suddenly from a beautiful dream, who struggles to recall it, and can re-capture nothing but a dim sense of the beauty of it, the beauty! Till that, too, fades away in its turn, and the dreamer bitterly accepts the hard, cold waking and all its penalties; so Mole, after struggling with his memory for a brief space, shook his head sadly and followed the Rat.”– Kenneth Grahame, The Wind in the Willows, Ch. 7

11 thoughts on “Dawn on the banks of the Georgina River

  1. Gary, this is Flo from the TME forum. Thanks for posting your present whereabouts and activities. 20 weeks!? Wow! What a trip this will be! I’ll bet, tho, that you’ll be glad to get back home. I’ll take time periodically to come here and see what your latest escapades are.

    • Hi Flo – I was hoping that you would log on as you are definitely the champion TME supporter. I am not sure how much you know of Australian geography, but it is not much smaller than the USA but with 20 million people and 200 million sheep. In three weeks we have covered nearly 4000 km. My wife didn’t want to be away from the grandkids quite so long but if you are going to actually get out and “smell the eucalypts” then we need at least five months – deadline home well before Christmas!
      I would love some input on the images fro a “critical friend” ie one we trust to tell us the truth

  2. Hi Gary/Julie
    Looks like you’re having a great time. Peace and quiet – I think I remember what that’s like. It’s all very hectic here – I’ve got to learn to say no.
    One you may be interested in is that we (Anthony and a team) are filming a Flash Mob event which they’re putting on at Miranda Fair on the 2nd August for the start of Education Week. I’ll let you look up what a Flash Mob is – it will go up on youtube after DET edit it. I’ll let you know when. Always something new happening here
    Stay safe and enjoy
    JB

    • Hi John – great to hear from you. I know you and Dee are great travellers but I suspect not this kind of travelling. At the moment we are in Mataranka Springs – staying 3 nights to recover from driving 1000 km in two days from Camooweal.
      I will keep an eye out for the Flash Mob event when you let me know – just be aware that there are a lot of Telstra “black holes” out here so I might be offline sometimes for a week at a time going across the top end but will certainly respond when ever I can.
      I am going to post in the next few days a blog entry that I am specifically aiming at HSIE aboriginal education so keep an eye out and let me know if it is useful. I thought if I posted something that allowed class discussion they kids could actually use the blog as a forum – will depend on staff pointing the kids at the blog entry.

      • Hey Gary
        I’ve put a note in my SIN to remind people about your blog so I’ll mention the AbEd to them when you get around to it. Hey does that make your trip tax deductable?????
        That’s my weekend task – doing my tax. Anyway I’m back to doing my SIN for tomorrow
        Stay safe
        Regards
        JB

      • I would like to think that the ATO would look favourably on a deduction but I think I have to earn an income first. When travelling fuel is $100 per day accomodation about $25 – but WA is much more expensive. I had to organise an extension for my tax because the DET hadn’t got out group certificates. But then Julia hadn’t called an election either!

Leave a Reply

